Meet Juliana Serrano

Hello, my name is Juliana Serrano.  I am the oldest of four children in my family.  I moved here to Delaware from Florida about 5 years ago now.  I am from a small town close to Tampa, where the weather was always humid and the sunshine and rain shared shifts daily.   I resided in Florida even after my family moved here and followed about two years later.  This was mainly due to the fact that I was employed in a position that I very much enjoyed due mainly to the fact that I could learn every day.  I was a medical assistant, groomed and trained by the dermatologists I worked for.  Recently, I graduated from Delaware Technical Community College with three associates degrees of science in: General Chemistry, Biological Sciences, Biotechnology.  I will receive my fourth degree, Chemistry: Math Concentration, from Delaware Technical Community College after the current summer class I’m taking is completed.  In the fall, I start a new journey and transfer into the Biochemistry program at the University of Delaware.

My ultimate dream goal would be to become a chemist or biologist in a brewery, distillery, or even a winery.  I appreciate the way different alcohol and beer is made, the process is interesting.  It is also chemical and biological processes that are occurring, not to mention the product doesn’t taste bad either.  If I can’t have my dream job, I guess earning a masters or doctorate in a field, which happens to be neuroscience, that interests me or into research, I enjoy the lab aspect side of chemistry/biology as well.  I enjoy education and all it has to offer.  Learning is something I would like to continue to do forever if possible.  I also have other personal goals in regards to extracurricular activities I’m involved in such as crossfit, and weightlifting.  I train about 4-5 days a week and put in as much effort as I can, the rewards and the feeling of achieving goals set is very motivating and comforting to find, in something I love.

The person I look up to most, would probably be my father.  He has always taught me to work hard and to push through and I see him do it every day.  Regardless of the minor but annoying (bad knees) pain he has to deal with, he works close to fifty to sixty hours a week.  And roughly has my whole life.  When I was 14, I began working in a restaurant, the one he was the general manager for, as a hostess/busser.  After a year or two, I also filled an expo position.  When he left that restaurant, I found myself at Sonic Drive-in, my first official restaurant experience.  I remained there for about two years before I went to another bar and grille up the street while also working by day at the office.

I know the hospitality industry has always been a great option for my career, my whole family has had experience in the industry, I enjoy it particularly.   I like to take care of people and I’m often inquisitive of what’s going on around me so it’s easy to be aware of others and what their needs are, specifically in a restaurant setting.   I like people, and I enjoy meeting new ones and talking to everyone every day, being a bartender specifically has helped me feel more confident in starting conversations and it’s my favorite thing to do.

Performing at a high level comes natural.  I always want to do the best I can at everything I can.  If you don’t try to be a better version of yourself, than how will you ever feel accomplished in life?  I don’t think it makes sense to do a bad job at anything.  Feeling rewarded and proud of your accomplishments is important. Everyone should be proud.

What’s your Story?